Why ‘Yesterday’ Was The Worst Film I’ve Ever Seen

And I’m not often a harsh critic

Kitiara Pascoe

--

Photo by IJ Portwine on Unsplash

I don’t write about films very often but this is a different circumstance.

Usually, films to me are Outstanding, Good, Okay After a Long Day, and Wouldn’t Watch Again But Fine.

This is because it’s quite difficult to come across a genuinely awful film unless you’ve wandered into the supreme low budget arena. But low budget films have a whole different rating system because you can’t expect too much.

By and large, you can expect big budget cinema to be at least Wouldn’t Watch Again But Fine.

But I have never regretted paying for a cinema ticket so much as when I watched Danny Boyle’s Yesterday.

And it’s this level of horrified surprise that’s prompted me to put words on a page.

*There are spoilers below. But frankly, I’m probably doing you a favour*

Good concept, atrociously executed

Yesterday (2019) was written by Richard Curtis, genius amongst geniuses. He’s responsible for the cinematic beauties of Notting Hill and Four Weddings and a Funeral.

--

--

Kitiara Pascoe

Outdoor Adventure Writer | Author of In Bed with the Atlantic (Fernhurst, 2018) | New book coming 2024 | kitiarapascoe.com | Youtube: https://bit.ly/3uQPWh3