4 Ways to Become an Author

It’s not all rejections and J.K. Rowling comparisons

Kitiara Pascoe
7 min readJan 26, 2022

--

Photo by Ben White on Unsplash

Hi there! I’m Kitiara, I’m 33 years old and am the author of six books, four of which are traditionally published already or due to be published traditionally in 2022. I expect to sign at least one more book deal this year, likely more.

If I’d read that paragraph when I was, I dunno, let’s say 25, I would’ve assumed that future me was doing some kind of cosmic ordering exercise. Not that I didn’t want to become or think I could become an author, just that I knew it was astronomically difficult to achieve.

I knew it was astronomically difficult to achieve because that’s what I’d been told for, I don’t know, my entire life thus far.

It’s the same thing I’d been told about being an actor too but now I’ve been in four feature films, two adverts, two spoken word videos and I just accepted a role in a short film the other day.

In sum, I’m doing what I always wanted to do when I was a child: I get to spend my time writing books, mucking about on camera and run a creative business.

While there’s a lot to unpack here, in this article I’m going to talk about working specifically as an author. Because there’s a lot of misunderstanding there and I want to a) clear it up and b) get you on track to…

--

--

Kitiara Pascoe

Outdoor Adventure Writer | Author of In Bed with the Atlantic (Fernhurst, 2018) | New book coming 2024 | kitiarapascoe.com | Youtube: https://bit.ly/3uQPWh3